St. Christopher's The Hall School
Independent Preparatory School for Boys and Girls 3-11 in Beckenham

New Build is Complete! Print E-mail



At last, the bunting may be taken out of cold storage for the new build is finished!  Whoop! Whoop!

Following over a year of demolition and construction and a frustrating protracted finale, we are at last able to utilise and appreciate our wonderful new facility.  To remind you, the ground floor consists of 4 spacious classrooms (Y1 & Y2) complete with cloakrooms, storage space and an office for Head of Lower School. 

On the Upper floor, once again we have 4 new classrooms, this time for Y3 & Y4 plus a new Learning Support room and Co-ordinators Room.  At the opposite end of the floor is a storage space and a new children’s toilet block.  Circulation throughout the school is now greatly improved on both levels, linking the Music and Drama wing with the new build and the reception block on the ground floor. Meanwhile on the ground floor a double width corridor allows travel from the Old Hall through to Kindergarten.

Imaginative use of glazing, sharp angles and a vibrant colour scheme has resulted in a bright and airy feel that Grand Design’s Kevin McCloud would be impressed with.  At half term, hopefully all remnants of the site will be removed to allow the formative stage of the ‘pitch’ reinstated to begin.  Minor internal ‘touch ups’ and adjustments will also be made good at this time.

This is my fourth ‘big build’ during my reign at St. Christopher’s and certainly the most ambitious.  I thank the Governing body for their guidance throughout and the staff for their patience, particularly during the ‘dark moments’ when the end was not in sight.

Prior to an official opening ceremony, I hope you are able to briefly view the new build (yet to be christened), both externally and internally.

I am confident that you will be impressed and will, I hope, appreciate the hard work that has gone into delivering this first class teaching facility.

A Velasco


Netball Tournament Success! Print E-mail

Congratulations to the U11 A team who won all of their games scoring a total of 28 goals and only 1 goal against them. They played Oakfield in the finals and won 6-1. Congratulations also to the B team who took part in the A team tournament! They came 3rd in their group scoring 11 goals and conceding 7.

A big thank you to all the girls for their excellent efforts and to Mrs Rogers, Mrs Merrick and Mrs Egan who helped with the smooth running of the score table and the timing.

Further thanks to Ms Steeden for all her hard work and support.

A team
Summere Rose Smith - Captain 
Lucy Porritt
Charlotte White
India Sparkes
Zoe Dreaneen
Florence Merrick
Lucy Rogers

B Team
Poppy Wormald
Ella Thompson
Charlotte Cook
Amelia Barrow
Rachel Collins
Stephanie Dunlop
Beth Egan
Evie Hance
Angelia Li
Isabella O’Sullivan
Zara Scott Chaudhury


Miss Atkinson

Happy Harvest 2017 Print E-mail

Thank you to all who kindly donated to our Harvest collection for the Penge Foodbank. The children brought their gifts into assembly and then the Y6 children, guided by Charity Monitors Angelina Li and Beth Egan, carried them out to the gate straight afterwards. As a result the Foodbank had two groaning car-fulls delivered this morning by Sally and Jane, who were the representatives who came to talk to the children. A special mention to the Head Boy - Isaac McConnell and Head Girl - Zoe Dreaneen who led the assembly so effectively. In addition, Isaac and Zoe, together with The House Captains (Nicholas Seal, Rachael Collins, Charlotte White and Finlay Butler) read their poems so well in front of a full hall. 

Congratulations to everyone who was involved.

Some memories of the day follow - 


Friday 13th October 2017

Charity Monitor assisted by House Captains and Head Boy to collect gifts as children come in.

Introduction and Welcome – Head Boy and Head Girl

All children – Autumn Days

‘Silver’ by Walter de la Mare - Head Boy – Isaac McConnell

Year 1 + 2 – Harvest Samba

‘Autumn’ anon – House Captain of Hillary – Finlay Butler

Kindergarten + Reception – Thank you God for the Harvest

‘The Prize Pumpkin’ by Colin West – House Captain of Campbell – Charlotte White

All children - Charity Song

‘October’s Party’ by George Cooper – House Captain of Blyton – Nicholas Seal

Talk – Sally and Jane from Foodbank

Cauliflowers Fluffy - Head Girl – Zoe Dreaneen

Prayers and Blessing – Father Tim

The Lord’s Prayer

 ‘Harvest’ anon – House Captain of Johnson – Rachel Collins

All children – Water of Life





Netball Result Print E-mail

Match Results
The U11 Netball Team Played against Royal Russell. The A team won 11-1 and the B team won 13-1.

Well done girls!

Miss Atkinson

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 9 of 226