History Print

St Christopher's SchoolSt. Christopher’s is a traditional co-educational Preparatory school for boys and girls from 3-11 years, which stands in its own grounds in the heart of Beckenham. The Georgian building dates back to circa 1750 and remained the home of the Cator family up until 1893, when it became The Hall School, a school for girls. It amalgamated with another local school, St. Christopher’s, in 1926. Today the school has been extended and updated to provide more classrooms, specially equipped rooms for music, drama and art, two libraries and two well-proportioned halls. There are two classes in each year group from Upper Kindergarten to Year 6. From Reception there is normally a maximum of 18 children per class. In Kindergarten, Reception and Year 1 teaching assistants support form teachers. Teaching Assistants are present both full time and part time throughout the school. There is also a learning support team at school to challenge and support children as required. We boast a loyal and hardworking Parents’ Association (SCA) who organise a variety of events on behalf of the school.

Enid Blyton was Head Girl at St. Christopher’s from 1913 to 1914, whilst Sir Edmund Hillary made the school his first port of call when he returned to England, having conquered Everest in 1953. Samuel Johnson was reputed to have spent the night at The Hall, and legend has it that in the Napoleonic period Thomas Campbell composed Ye Mariners of England whilst sitting under the tulip tree, which, to this day, stands in our grounds by the lower playground.